Leicestershire Law Society hosts Annual Awards: Shortlisting

On Tuesday 11th February 2020, the Leicestershire Law Society hosted the hotly contested Annual Awards: Shortlisting event. The evening was held at Curve Theatre, as guests were greeted with prosecco and canapes. Over 70 solicitors and barristers from across Leicestershire and Rutland gathered together to find out whether they had been shortlisted as finalists for the upcoming Annual Dinner and Legal Awards on 20th March.

Glynis Wright, President of the Leicestershire Law Society, welcomed the guests into the auditorium, and introduced Curve’s incredible performer for the evening, Jess Daley who sang two beautiful songs from Legally Blonde. The President then announced the theme for this year’s Annual Dinner and Legal Awards: A Classical Extravaganza! Guests were treated to a taste of the entertainment promised for the evening, watching a film clip of the internationally renowned Electric String Quartet called The Sirens, who will be the headline act at this year’s awards, hearing that other star performers on the night will be the much loved mezzo-soprano Rozanna Madylas and baritone Lancelot Nomura.

Then, what everyone was eagerly waiting for – the results of the shortlisted applications. The President is delighted to announce that the following applications have been successful and will be finalists for the Annual Legal Awards in March:

Trainee/Paralegal of the Year sponsored by De Montfort University
Verinder Dharna – Cartwright King Solicitors
Tejni Mamtora – TML Solicitors

Junior solicitor of the Year sponsored by University of Leicester
Gemma Curtis – Johnson Astills
Beth McGovern – Smith Partnership

Barrister of the Year
Patrick Bowe – KCH Garden Square
Nabila Hani Mallick – No5 Chambers
Alexandra Scott – 2 New Street Chambers

Senior Solicitor of the Year
Stephen Morris – Dodds Solicitors
Rachel McCahill – Nelsons
Dav Mahet – TML Solicitors
Bhumika Parmar – BP Legal
Daniel O’Keeffe – Moosa-Duke Solicitors

Chambers of the Year
36 Group
KCH Garden Square
2 New Street Chambers

Small Law Firm of the Year Sponsored by KCH Garden Square
Johnson Astills
Lawson-West Solicitors
Patterson’s Commercial Law
Moosa-Duke Solicitors
Affinity Law

Large Law Firm of the Year Sponsored by 36 Group
Smith Partnership
Duncan Lewis Solicitors

Tickets for this year’s Annual Dinner and Legal Awards are now on sale – and will sell out fast!

Visit www.leicestershirelawsociety.org.uk/awards2020/ for more information.